Filter by categories
Explore
GE0023

Holford Bowling Green, looking towards Longstone Hill (no longer visible in 2017) with “Bowling Green Cottage” on the left and “The Orchard” the next cottage up the track.
It is uncertain how the name of the green came about, but there are three main theories which are, (1) a first class cricketer lived in the village and used the green to practice his bowling, (2) it was used for bowls which has been a popular sport since at least the Elizabethan period, or (3) it is believed that Huguenots, who worked at the ‘Silk Mills’ (in Holford Glen), may have used the green to play boules.

ID

GE0023

Origination Year

1947

Commercial source

No Link