An early picture of Combe House and its associated cottages in the combe also known as Butterfly and Holford Combe. The tannery at Combe House was closed in 1900. Note the quarry on the left which gave the name to “Quarry House” which is the near end house of the row of white cottages in the centre of the picture. The ‘big room’ in this house was used as a village hall from about 1900 -1921. Also note that the viaduct carrying water from the leet to the water wheel is still in place.
Explore
